Bye bye rental house

Yesterday we said our final goodbyes to our rental place, readers.  We spent three years there and as much as we were glad to leave, it was our happy little home for a while.

We were meeting our landlord at 7pm to hand over our keys, so we arrived at 6pm to clean up a bit first.  When we shoveled all of our belongings into a moving truck two weeks ago, I wasn’t concerned about cleaning as we went.  Aside from sweeping up the embarrassing piles of dog hair that emerged from under our furniture for the benefit of our happy moving crew, I didn’t touch anything else to wipe or sweep or clean.  Dan had gone back to the house after we moved out to do a quick sweep, but dog hair is one of those tricky beasts that keeps coming back.  It definitely needed another sweep yesterday, and the kitchen is where I focused all of my efforts.

I wiped out the fridge and freezer, and every single cupboard in the kitchen.  Three years’ worth of crumbs and spice rack debris really add up and I was mildly ashamed at what the inside of my cupboards looked like.  Mental note to make this an annual house cleaning chore at the new house.

Here’s the last tour of our rental place for your viewing pleasure (split into two parts because I accidentally hit “stop” while going up the stairs):

Lower level

Upstairs

And finally, a la Friends, here’s the last shot taken inside the house:

ImageDan made fun of me for doing this, but I was thinking of you when I did it, readers.

Bye bye old house, we’re on to bigger and better things now.  I hope the next tenants will love/hate you as much as we did.

About joeyandjanice

Two crazy kids trying to make sense of the jumble surrounding making the jump from renting to owning our first home. Join us here as we stumble towards the biggest purchase of our lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

