Moving announcements Part II

I’ve made serious progress on my moving announcements, readers.  I’ve gone from just the digital file to real life postcards, ready for mailing.  I didn’t trust the postcard on its own to make it through the mail, so I made envelopes out of brown craft paper to keep them safe.  What’s that?  You’ve never made your own envelopes?!  You haven’t lived until you’ve made your own envelopes.  Don’t be scared, I’ll show you how I did it.

My crafting supplies include a roll of brown paper (from Michaels, I think it cost me $8 and there’s still tons left after this project), a ruler, a pencil, some scrap paper, and a piece of cardstock.
ImageNext comes making your own envelope template.  I made the first one out of scrap paper, using one of my postcards as the guide for sizing.  I just looked at a regular ol’ envelope to get the basic idea, then free-handed it for the rough version.  I sharpened up the lines with a ruler, then cut it out and made adjustments.  This pre-template was used to make the cardstock template, and voila!

ImageI made a few envelopes to test the template, then went hog-wild into mass production.  I had 50 postcards that needed envelopes, so there was no time to mess around.  I kept the paper on the roll and traced 4 envelopes per row, staggering them to get the most out of the paper.  I cut them all out later.

ImageThen fold in the corners and glue, envelope complete.  I spent four episodes of Fresh Prince of Belair cutting out the envelopes, followed by another two episodes to glue and stuff them.  Pro tip: slip scrap paper inside the envelope when you’re gluing the bottom flap to the sides so you don’t end up gluing it to itself.

ImageThe postcards fit perfectly inside, and I love that they lined up like this:
ImageGlue down the flap, and you’re done.  I glued everything over a scrap piece of paper to avoid sticky table syndrome.
ImageAnd the backs of my pretty little postcard envelopes
ImageThey went out in the mail last week, so if you receive a Christmas card from us, you’ll be getting your own very soon.

About joeyandjanice

Two crazy kids trying to make sense of the jumble surrounding making the jump from renting to owning our first home. Join us here as we stumble towards the biggest purchase of our lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

