Inspiration from vacation

Remember how Dan and I struggle with finding a personal style for our home?  Think of the Inspiration Binder from my last post, with many many pictures of things that we both like.  Guess what kids!  I found a home that features so many things that I love, all in one nice neat little package.

Doesn’t it look like a magazine?  I love it!  These pictures were all taken at my recent trip to Chantry Breezes Bed and Breakfast in South Hampton Ontario with my Monday night knitting group.  The lovely lady in the first picture is my friend Margot, our cruise director of the weekend, who recommended the B&B.  She stayed in the cottage behind the main house, and all of the pictures except for the last one are from inside her little space.

After taking a few online “What’s your decorating style?” surveys, I’ve determined that I have a strong “Country” streak in me.  The bathroom is a perfect example of stuff that I love, and that style is exactly what I have in mind for a one-day future laundry room, where I can sort and fold and be peaceful.

The last picture is the living room in the main house, where we sat and knitted each night.  The blue of the walls is very much like the blue we painted our bedroom in our first rental place (the one where we were allowed to paint and got all excited about customizing as our own, and then left after 6 months *sad face*).  I love the cool colours, and the pops of bright purple with fun accent furniture.  I have a strong feeling that this look is really not Dan’s style, but I would like to find a way to bring little pieces of this into our decorating.

About joeyandjanice

Two crazy kids trying to make sense of the jumble surrounding making the jump from renting to owning our first home. Join us here as we stumble towards the biggest purchase of our lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

