Inspiration binder

Following the lead of our favourite new blog, Dan and I ripped through stacks of magazines last night to start our very own inspiration binder.  Our style right now would be best described as mish-mosh, since everything we own was either free or from Ikea.  We’re making do with what we have for a while, and we’re just hoping to go into our next house with a better sense of how to pull it all together.  We also have different tastes and this is a great way to find out what appeals to both of us and build a style around it.

Magazine subscriptions add up, thanks Julia!

All of these magazines came from Dan’s mom, who has been receiving subscriptions for House & Home for what looks like decades.  It took us a good couple hours of flipping and ripping, and we didn’t even get through all of the magazines.  The orange binder on the left is my favourite find from Staples this week, it’s a nice sized 2-ish inch binder with a pretty cover.  Dan originally bought us a 1″ binder this week for this project, but I didn’t think it would be big enough for the job.

Owls!

I love this binder, it makes me happy.

Victoria's favourite chairs

I trimmed all of the magazine pages and fit them into page protectors, and then sorted them into the following categories:

-Kitchens and bathrooms (it’s mostly kitchens)
-Living rooms and dining rooms (mostly dining rooms tables)
-Bedrooms
-Small spaces (office, laundry room, generally organizing spaces)
-Colours and colour schemes we love

I also picked up an accordion style binder pocket since the binder I love so much doesn’t have a spot for loose pages.  I already stashed our Homebuying guide from the government in there to keep important details close at hand.  There are tabs for organizing the pocket too, but I have yet to decide on the categories in the pockets.

The Homebuying guide has some really great templates for house-hunting, I especially love the check-box style sheet to take with you to open houses and house visits during the searching phase.  I plan  to photocopy a bunch and keep them in the pocket for quick and easy referencing.  Very few things get me more excited than creating a new organization system.  Lordie-loo, I’m such a geek.  I was actually giddy when I was shopping for the binder materials at Staples.

Dan is already back to work ripping out more pages, I think this one will be an ongoing project until we figure out our style.

About joeyandjanice

Two crazy kids trying to make sense of the jumble surrounding making the jump from renting to owning our first home. Join us here as we stumble towards the biggest purchase of our lives.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration binder

  1. Uncle Mark says:

    Wow..it’s like you’re, ya know, planning stuff. We just looked around, saw 4 houses and bought one.

    Im looking forward to the vicarious experience, though. Good luck, guys.

    • Hi Uncle Mark!

      I think it is a huge combination of me having too much time on my hands and Victoria really liking to make charts.

      All this might be a big waste of time, as we might fall in love with the first place we see, but it is fun to play grown up a little bit each day.

      -Dan

Leave a Reply

